MHSAA Announces 2018/19 High School Classifications

The Michigan High School Athletic Association (MHSAA) announced the new classification breaks for the 2018/19 school year and there will be 22 schools moving up in class while 15 schools will move down. (Note: This list does not include schools opting up in class/division for tournaments, which can be found on the Administrators page of the MHSAA Website, under Enrollment and Classification): 

Moving Up From Class B to Class A

Detroit Mumford
Flint Southwestern


Jackson Northwest

New Boston Huron

River Rouge


Moving Down From Class A to Class B

Battle Creek Harper Creek

Detroit Cody

Farmington Hills Harrison

Hazel Park

Stevensville Lakeshore


Moving Up From Class C to Class B


Detroit Henry Ford

Detroit Jalen Rose Leadership Academy

Detroit School of Arts




Wixom St. Catherine of Siena


Moving Down From Class B to Class C

Dearborn Advanced Technology Academy





Moving Up From Class D to Class C

Bark River-Harris

Big Rapids Crossroads Academy

Hope of Detroit Academy




Rogers City

Wyoming Potter’s House Christian


Moving Down From Class C to Class D

Detroit Southeastern


New Buffalo


Saginaw Michigan Lutheran Seminary

Saginaw Nouvel Catholic Central


New Postseason Eligible Tournament Schools in 2018-19

Dearborn Heights WISE Academy

Pontiac Arts & Technology Academy

Taylor (created from a merger of Taylor Truman and Taylor Kennedy)


Enrollment Breaks by Classes – 2018-19

(Number of schools in parentheses)

Class A: 885 and above (186 schools)

Class B: 398 – 884 (188)

Class C: 194 – 397 (186)

Class D: 193 and below (187)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *